Ole Miss’ Sebastian Saiz wins Howell Trophy

When Ole Miss first started recruiting Sebastian Saiz he says he couldn’t even point to the state of Mississippi on a map and he definitely didn’t know what the Southeastern Conference was.
Today he put both the Rebels and the SEC on the map by winning the 2017 C-Spire Howell Trophy. The annual award goes to the best men’s college basketball player in the state of Mississippi.
As a senior, Saiz was second on the team in scoring and averaged a double-double with more than ten rebounds per game. Just to think, four short years ago he was still playing ball over in Madrid.
Ole Miss head men’s basketball Coach Andy Kennedy said, “He’s really what college basketball is all about. Here’s a kid who took a huge chance on me and on Ole Miss, left his native country and he’s really maximized his experience.”
“It’s a great feeling coming here from Spain, you know? Another country, another culture, be able to come here to the state of Mississippi and make history like that is something that not a lot of people can do and I’m just so thankful for it. It’s been a great, long journey and I’m glad I did it, you know? And I’m glad it’s going to keep going,” said Saiz.
This marks the fifth straight year an Ole Miss player has taken home the hardware. The others were Marshall Henderson, Jarvis Summers and Stefan Moody twice.
Saiz beat out Quinndary Weatherspoon of Mississippi State and Devin Schmidt of Delta State for this year’s trophy.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *