The Cost of a DUI in Mississippi

New Year’s Eve is one of the biggest nights of celebration, but it’s also a huge night for DUI arrests as well.
Drinking and driving is not only dangerous, but expensive. In the state of Mississippi, the first offense could result in 48 hours in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a 90 day license suspension.
The second offense could result in up to a year of jail time, $1,500 in fines, and a two year license suspension. The third offense could result in up to five years in jail, $5,000 in fines, and a five year license suspension.
Gulfport resident Robert Rominger said, “Obviously it’s such a dangerous thing. I would just hope that everybody would make sure they are with someone who doesn’t drink and that they make sure that person does the driving when they’re finished drinking.”
The state of Mississippi prohibits driving with a .08 percentage or above blood alcohol concentration. DUIs also include the use of pills or marijuana.

Categories: Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *