Swearing in of Ocean Springs mayor and aldermen

A month after general municipal elections finalized new city governments across South Mississippi, newly elected officials are beginning to take the oath of office and step into their roles.

In Ocean Springs this evening, Mayor Kenny Holloway and the city’s seven aldermen were sworn in.

Mayor Holloway secured the mayoral race in the primary runoff elections at the end of April with 52 percent of the votes to opponent Melanie Allen’s 48 percent.

The 2021 municipal elections also resulted in new aldermen for wards one and three which will be represented by Jennifer Burgess and Kevin Wade respectively.

Here’s what Mayor Holloway had to say about the honor of being sworn in and his main priority for the next four years. “I got a little choked up up there when I started talking about my 10th grade Civics class. And I meant that. It means a lot. I’m excited. I’m humbled and I’m just glad that the citizens of Ocean Springs selected me to do this job. We’ve got an older city. We’ve got a crumbling infrastructure program and we need to fix that. We need to address our water, sewer, and drainage needs, so we can grow our city and that’s primary– number one on my list.”

At the end of the ceremony, retiring Ward One Aldermen John Gill was honored for his 36 years serving as a part of the Ocean Springs City Council.

Categories: Jackson County, Local News, News