Special Election for Pascagoula Mayor to be held on Tuesday, Feb. 11

PASCAGOULA, Miss. — The City of Pascagoula will hold a Special Election on Tuesday February 11, 2020 to elect a Mayor, filling the unexpired term of Mayor Dane Maxwell.

Maxwell resigned effective January 2, 2020.

The term for this seat expires on June 30, 2021.

Other Dates to remember:

  • Tuesday, January 21, 2020 – Deadline to qualify with the City Clerk’s office (by 5:00 p.m.)
  • Tuesday, March 3, 2020 – Runoff Election (if necessary)

Councilman Stephen Burrow is serving as acting Mayor until a candidate is elected. “I can’t speak for the rest of the Council, but I think the Mayor of Pascagoula should be someone who brings energy to the job and is someone who can treat this like a full-time job,” Burrow said. “It should be someone who will best represent the citizens of Pascagoula.”

Categories: Featured, Jackson County, Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *