President Trump approves Mississippi’s Pre-Landfall Disaster Declaration

JACKSON — Today, Governor Tate Reeves announced that President Donald J. Trump approved his request for a federal emergency declaration in preparation of Hurricane Sally.

“President Trump is on top of the situation to come to the aid of Mississippi yet again. We requested this federal disaster declaration yesterday, and the President was quick to approve our request to start getting help and support out to our state immediately,” said Governor Tate Reeves. “We are truly grateful for a president that has Mississippians’ safety at the top of his mind.”

Under the approved federal emergency declaration, FEMA is authorized to provide emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program at 75 percent federal funding for 24 Mississippi counties.

The following counties are eligible for this federal assistance: Adams, Amite, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Stone, Walthall, Wayne and Wilkinson.

The purpose of a federal emergency declaration is to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, or to lessen the threat of a catastrophe in the designated areas.

Categories: Featured, Mississippi State News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *