Ole Miss wide receiver wins 2017 Conerly Trophy

Dating back to 1996, the Conerly Trophy has gone to the best college football player in the state of Mississippi. Tonight that award was presented to a rising star at the wide receiver position.
Coming off a record-setting sophomore campaign, Ole Miss Wide out A.J. Brown is this year’s winner. He takes home the hardware over Mississippi State Quarterback Nick Fitzgerald and Southern Miss Running back Ito Smith.
In 2017, Brown led the Rebels on offense with his big play ability, showcasing his dynamic skills with six receptions for 167 yards and a touchdown in the Egg Bowl.
All in all, the Starkville native set a single season program record with more than 1,200 receiving yards and tied the high mark for touchdowns with 11. Brown’s six one hundred yard games are also tied for the most in school history with Laquon Treadwell also having done that in 2015, the same year he was a Conerly Trophy finalist.”I would say hard work, hard work paying off. I’m blessed to be put in this situation and I give thanks to God, and I’m surrounded by a lot of good talent. Laquon Treadwell has a picture of all his accolades on the wall and like every day in the summer I would say sorry, because I knew him, I would be like I’m sorry but you’re coming down. Every day. And it made me work a lot harder since I broke some of his records. And next year, just to do it all over again and try to break my own records.”
Brown is the seventh Rebel to win the Conerly Trophy. This year marks the eighth time for an Ole Miss player overall.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *