NBC News and MSNBC to Deliver Nearly 300 Hours of Coverage of the Republican and Democratic National Conventions

NBC News and MSNBC will together provide unparalleled coverage of the Republican and Democratic national conventions with comprehensive reporting and analysis on both television networks, online, and across social media platforms.
“NBC Nightly News,” “TODAY,” and “Meet the Press” will broadcast live from Cleveland and Philadelphia as Lester Holt, Matt Lauer, Savannah Guthrie, and Chuck Todd interview newsmakers and break down the biggest news of the day. Holt will anchor NBC’s network primetime coverage with Guthrie and Todd live across the country from 10-11 p.m. ET all four nights of each convention. The nightly primetime specials will combine the strength, influence, and reach of NBC News’ three flagship newscasts.
MSNBC will go beyond gavel-to-gavel coverage with over 20 hours of live reporting each day the conventions are in session, beginning with special editions of “Morning Joe” live from the host cities through primetime and late night coverage led by Rachel Maddow, Brian Williams, and Chris Matthews.
Over 45 NBC News and MSNBC anchors, correspondents, and embeds will spread throughout Cleveland and Philadelphia to take viewers inside the historic political events and cover every angle of the stories as they unfold.
NBCNews.com and all social media platforms will provide nonstop reporting and analysis fueled by the NBC News political unit and reporters in Ohio, Pennsylanvia, and throughout the country. NBCNews.com will also livestream the network primetime specials each night.
• On the Sunday before each convention, Chuck Todd moderates special editions of “Meet the Press” live from Cleveland and Philadelphia.
• Lester Holt anchors “NBC Nightly News” live from the host cities beginning the Sunday night leading into each convention through Thursday.
• On Monday and Tuesday of each week, Savannah Guthrie co-anchors a split edition of “TODAY” live from the host city. Matt Lauer joins Guthrie live at the convention site on Wednesday and Thursday of each week.
• Lester Holt leads NBC News primetime coverage joined by Savannah Guthrie along with Chuck Todd from 10-11 p.m. ET all four nights of both conventions, anchoring live inside the convention hall.
• MSNBC launches in-depth coverage the week of the Republican rules committee meetings in Cleveland and ramps up over the weekend leading into the opening gavel on Monday, July 18.
• Many weekend broadcasts, including “AM Joy,” originate live from Cleveland and Philadelphia ahead of each convention, and Sunday nights feature special primetime previews led by Chuck Todd at 5 p.m. ET, Chris Hayes at 6 p.m., Chris Matthews at 7 p.m. ET, and Rachel Maddow, Brian Williams, and Chris Matthews from 8-10 p.m. ET.
• “Morning Joe” (6-9 a.m. ET) will have special broadcasts live from each host city Monday – Friday of each convention week.
• MSNBC daytime coverage (9 a.m. – 5 p.m. ET) is live from the heart of each city with anchors Stephanie Ruhle, José Díaz-Balart, Tamron Hall, Andrea Mitchell, Craig Melvin, Chris Jansing, Thomas Roberts, Kate Snow, and Steve Kornacki.
• Evening coverage kicks off each night at 5 p.m. ET as Chuck Todd anchors “MTP Daily” from live locations outside the convention halls, followed by Chris Hayes leading the 6 p.m. ET hour.
• Beginning at 7 p.m. ET, Brian Williams and Rachel Maddow anchor MSNBC primetime coverage live from Election Headquarters in New York, with Chris Matthews live inside the convention hall.
• Chris Matthews anchors late night coverage and analysis until 2 a.m. ET.
• Tom Brokaw, who has covered every presidential election since 1968, will contribute across both networks and online.
• Other NBC News and MSNBC anchors and correspondents reporting from Ohio and Pennsylvania include: Peter Alexander, Stephanie Gosk, Gabe Gutierrez, Hallie Jackson, Kasie Hunt, Kelly O’Donnell, Lawrence O’Donnell, Cal Perry, Jacob Rascon, Joy Reid, Jacob Soboroff, Katy Tur, and Kristen Welker.
• NBC News and MSNBC digital writers on the ground include: Leigh Ann Caldwell, Benjy Sarlin, Jane Timm, and Alex Seitz Wald; along with campaign embeds Monica Alba, Shaquille Brewster, Danny Freeman, Alex Jaffe, Kailani Koenig, Vaughn Hillyard, and Ali Vitali.
• Contributors joining live from the host cities and throughout the country include: Nicolle Wallace, Steve Schmidt, Ben Ginsberg, Hugh Hewitt, Mike Murphy, and Eugene Robinson.
• NBCNews.com will live stream the network primetime specials and feature non-stop reporting and analysis, including real-time updates on the live blog.
• The NBCNews.com verticals — including NBC Asian American, NBCBLK, NBC Latino, and NBC OUT — will provide original reporting, analysis, and video.
• Visitors to Cleveland and Philadelphia are invited to stop by an “Election Confessions” voting booth to disclose their most private thoughts about the 2016 presidential election – incognito. Join the conversation with the hashtag #ElectionConfessions and learn more about the NBC News experiment here: http://electionconfessions.com/

Categories: Entertainment, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *