Mississippi State’s Kylin Hill wins 2019 Conerly Trophy

For the fifth time in seven years, the best collegiate football player in the Magnolia State calls home to Mississippi State.

Tonight, junior Running Back Kylin Hill was named the winner of the 2019 C-Spire Conerly Trophy for helping rush the Bulldogs to their tenth consecutive bowl game.

With more than 1,300 yards on the ground, Hill not only leads the Southeastern Conference in that department, he’s also just 45 yards shy of breaking MSU’s all-time single season record.

His eight 100 yard games also tie a single season high mark in Starkville to go along with his 10 rushing touchdowns.

Hill beats out the likes of Ole Miss freshman Quarterback John Rhys Plumlee and Southern Miss junior Quarterback Jack Abraham and has great respect for every finalist. “I know them from high school. Great athletes. So for me to win it is a big accomplishment. They have great athletes. Plumlee himself, he had an incredible season. So for me to win it was huge. Growing up as a kid, this is an award every Mississippi athlete should want to win.”

Mississippi State Head Football Coach Joe Moorhead said, “That he loves me? Yeah. I love him, too. But I mean that’s – I have three children at home and 120 sons in the program and there’s an old saying, if you don’t treat them right, you can’t teach them right. And I think Kylin knows that I care more about him as a student and a person as I do a player, and it tugged at my heart strings to hear him say that.”

Hill becomes the eighth different Bulldog to win the Conerly Trophy in the 24 year history of the award.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *