Mississippi State Women’s Basketball dominates SEC awards

Despite losing four of their five leading scorers from a year ago to graduation, the Mississippi State Bulldogs have demonstrated that their back-to-back runs to the national championship game weren’t flukes.

Today, the SEC post-season awards proved as much with Teaira McCowan taking home the league’s player of the year and defensive player of the year honors.

Head man Vic Schaefer was named coach of the year for the second consecutive season, having led MSU to its second consecutive regular season title for the first time in school history with an overall mark of 27-2.

The player-coach tandem also took home the same awards, courtesy of the Associated Press with McCowan serving as the league’s only unanimous All-SEC First Team selection.

Harrison Central alum Jazzmun Holmes was also recognized as one of five on the league’s all defensive team.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *