Harrison County back under mask mandate

Harrison County has now been added to Governor Tate Reeves’ mask mandate list along with six other additional counties.

At his press briefing this afternoon, Governor Reeves announced the following counties that will be added to the nine already under the order:

  • Harrison
  • Madison
  • Marshall
  • Jones
  • Carroll
  • Leake
  • Benton

Dr. Thomas Dobbs mentioned that 19 percent of ICU capacity remains available in the state. “Currently we have 580 COVID patients confirmed in the hospital with 157 in intensive care and 66 on ventilators which is relatively stable compared to over the past several days. Nineteen percent of ICU capacity remains available. One of the things we’ve noted and monitoring closely is the majority of the cases are non-COVID but there is a significantly large number of folks hospitalized that may come into play as additional COVID cases require hospitalization.”

Harrison County saw a single day high for COVID-19 cases last week and county schools reported 685 students in quarantine the second week of October.

Categories: Featured, Harrison County, Health, Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *