Gillom Trophy finalists announced

By virtue of the fact that Victoria Vivians now plays in the WNBA, her record streak of winning the Gillom Trophy four times in a row has come to an end.

So, let’s meet the 2019 nominees, announced today, that will keep a different kind of streak alive.

For the second year in a row, all three finalists hail from Mississippi State. The finalists are Teaira McCowan, Jordan Danberry, and Anriel Howard. That means the award will stay in the Bulldog family for a fifth straight year with MSU currently ranked fifth in the nation.

McCowan has to be considered the front runner, averaging more than 17 points and 13 rebounds per game during the regular season.

Howard is scoring at a clip of 16 per and Danberry at more than 13.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *