Former Shucker Devin Williams wins NL Reliever of the Year

On Saturday, former Biloxi Shucker Devin Williams won the Trevor Hoffman National League Reliever of the Year award which means a former Shucker has taken home the honor for the third straight year with Josh Hader doing so in 2018 and 2019.

The Milwaukee Brewers right-hander led all MLB relievers with 0.33 ERA and was tied for the league lead with 53 strikeouts.

Williams also struck out 53 percent of the batters he faced breaking the previous single season record set by Aroldis Chapman in 2014.

Williams beat out Jeremy Jeffress of the Chicago Cubs and the recently traded Trevor Rosenthal of the San Diego Padres.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports