City of Ocean Springs announces regulations in response to COVID-19

The Mayor of the City of Ocean Springs hereby proclaims it necessary and in the best interest of the public welfare and safety to impose certain regulations pursuant to Mississippi law for the purposes of protecting life and property, preserving the public order and safety, and limiting and containing the spread of a contagious or infectious disease, specifically COVID-19.

The following regulations are hereby implemented and adopted, effective 11:59 p.m. CST on March 20, 2020:

  • Indoor dining shall be prohibited at all restaurants, cafés, coffee houses, diners, food stands, and any other building, business, establishment, or place that prepares, sells or
    distributes prepared food (collectively referred to as “Dining Establishments”). Dining Establishments may only sell or distribute food and beverages by means of carry-out,
    walk-out, curbside, drive-up, drive-thru and delivery. For any Dining Establishment selling or distributing food and beverages by means of carry-out, no more than five (5)
    customers shall be allowed in the Dining Establishment at any given time. Dining Establishments are responsible for ensuring compliance with the foregoing limitation.
  • The following buildings, businesses, establishments and places shall be closed: parties, bars, social clubs, night clubs, taverns, lounges, private clubs and indoor and outdoor
    performance venues.
  • City properties (parks, centers, harbors, and marinas) are closed to gatherings of more than ten (10) people.
    Social distancing of six (6) feet or more is in effect for all facilities in the City of Ocean Springs, Mississippi.
  • None of the foregoing provisions shall be deemed to restrict or prohibit any person, entity, or business from providing goods and services necessary for the support of
    Critical Infrastructure. The following sectors constitute Critical Infrastructure: healthcare/public health; law enforcement; public safety and first responders; food and
    agriculture; energy, including electricity, petroleum, natural gas and propane; water and wastewater; transportation and logistics; ports; public works; communications and
    information technology; critical manufacturing; hazardous materials; and financial services.
Categories: Featured, Jackson County, Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *