Alabama WR Devonta Smith wins Heisman Trophy

College football’s most prestigious award, the Heisman Trophy, was presented tonight.

The finalists being Alabama teammates Mac Jones and Devonta Smith, as well as Florida’s Kyle Trask and Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence.

And the winner is: Alabama senior wideout Devonta Smith now just the fourth receiver to ever take home the honors.

At the time votes were cast, Smith led the entire nation with 98 catches and more than 1,500 yards.

In the national semi-final game against Notre Dame, the record-breaking Crimson Tide receiver added another seven catches for 130 yards and three touchdowns, giving him 105 for more than 1,600 yards and 20 scores.

He’s just the third Alabama player to ever win the Heisman, joining the elite company of Mark Ingram and Derrick Henry.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *