Alabama Crimson Tide wins sixth national title under Nick Saban

For the sixth time in 12 years, so pretty much every other year dating back to 2009, the Alabama Crimson Tide are your college football national champions.

Late last night, it was roll tide roll all the way to the trophy presentation behind a record-setting performance from the Heisman Trophy winner Devonta Smith.

The senior and soon-to-be first round NFL Draft pick went off in the first half before missing most of the second half due to injury with 12 receptions for 215 yards and three touchdowns.

The end result was a 52-24 triumph over the Ohio State Buckeyes, capping off Nick Saban’s second perfect season at Alabama and in his humble opinion perhaps his most perfect season yet. “This team accomplished more almost than any team. No disrespect to any other teams that we had or any championship teams, but this team won 11 SEC games. No other team has done that. They won the SEC and went undefeated in the SEC. And then they beat two great teams in the playoffs with no real break in between. This is our fifth game in a row. From LSU to Arkansas to Florida to Notre Dame to here and played 13 games and went undefeated with all the disruptions that we had this season. I think there’s quite a bit to write about when it comes to the legacy of a team.”

Overall, this is the 18th national championship all-time for Alabama.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *