Waveland elects new mayor in municipal elections

The city of Waveland will have a new mayor and two new aldermen following yesterday’s municipal elections.

Unofficial results show Jay Trapani is Waveland’s next mayor after receiving nearly 80 percent of the vote against two other challengers.

Micah Tinkler came in second with 16 percent of the vote, followed  by Brice Philips with four percent of the vote.

Trapani will succeed outgoing mayor Mike Smith, who decided earlier this year to not seek re-election.

Moving on to the board of aldermen races, in the race for Ward 1 alderman,  Rhonda  Aime-Gamble comes out on top with 60 percent of the vote over two other challengers.

In Ward 2, incumbent Bobby Richardson defeats challenger Clarence Harris with 66 percent of the vote to Harris’s 34.

Ward 3 incumbent aldermen Shane Lafontaine ran unopposed in this election.

And in the three-way race in Ward 4, Jeremy  Clark is the winner, garnering 59 percent of the vote over Gary Catalano’s 31 percent, and Lynn Smith’s 10 percent.

Categories: Elections 2022, Featured, Local News, News