Ole Miss QB Matt Corral wins Conerly Trophy

This season, Ole Miss quarterback Matt Corral was just one of two division I QBs to throw for at least 15 touchdowns and run for at least ten touchdowns.

He also led the Rebels to their first ten-win regular season in program history.

That’s the kind of resume that will win you the Conerly Trophy, going to the state’s top college football player each year.

Late last night, Corral beat out two other well-deserving finalists, Mississippi State QB Will Rogers and Jackson State QB Shedeur Sanders.

2021 has been a banner season for Corral, who leads the SEC with more than 3,330 yards passing to go along with 20 touchdowns to just four picks while completing more than 68 percent of his throws.

On the ground, Corral has close to 600 yards rushing with another 11 trips to the end zone. “I remember being told I was stupid for coming here because we had nothing to play for. Morale in the locker room was just dead. Everyone was just happy to wear an Ole Miss jersey kind of thing, and it’s really crazy to think how far we’ve come.”

Corral has already announced this will be his last season at Ole Miss with his 2022 NFL Draft stock through the roof.