Ole Miss Outfielder Kemp Alderman wins Boo Ferriss Trophy

The honor of being the most outstanding college baseball player in Mississippi going to Ole Miss Outfielder Kemp Alderman.

This season, the junior led the Rebels in almost every statistical category with a .376 batting average, 19 home runs, 61 RBI, and a 1.149 OPS.

Alderman becoming the first Ole Miss player to win the award since 2014, beating out the dynamic duo from Southern Miss Tanner Hall and Slade Wilks, as well as Mississippi State’s Hunter Hines and Jackson State’s Ty Hill.

Those 19 homers are the third-most in program history. Alderman said, “Thought maybe there was a possibility I won this award, but I mean with the guys that were up for nomination, all good players, all deserved to win it. So, it was kind of up in the air who was going to win cause all of us really had great years, so I mean I wasn’t really expecting to win, just come here, have a good time and honor the guys who got voted, and so when they called my name I was kind of surprised and I was a little nervous for the speech I had to come give.”

Alderman also made four starts at catcher and two appearances on the mound.

Alderman also honored by the SEC today as second-team all-conference in the outfield. He’s joined by Ole Miss Shortstop Jacob Gonzalez and Catcher Calvin Harris on that second team.

Mississippi State’s lone selection ending up on the first team, Hunter Hines, another Ferris Trophy finalist that could have easily won it.

Pearl River Community College Alum Bryson Ware, now at Auburn, getting a second team nod as well.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports