Mississippi State Health Officer: If you have COVID-19, isolate at home or face penalty

0
736
Coronavirus in Mississippi
MGN Image

JACKSON, Miss. (WXXV) — On Tuesday, Mississippi State Health Officer Dr. Thomas Dobbs issued a statewide order for the Isolation of Individuals Diagnosed with COVID-19, effective immediately.

The Order, issued to everyone living in Mississippi, stipulates that anyone diagnosed with COVID-19 must immediately isolate at home.

- Advertisement -

Dobbs  explains, “We have a lot of COVID activity throughout the state right now,  so it is absolutely critical that anyone infected with COVID-19, and not hospitalized, must remain in the home or other appropriate residential location for 14 days from onset of illness (or from the date of a positive test for those who are asymptomatic).”

The order states, “The failure or refusal to obey the lawful order of a health officer is, at a minimum, a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $500.00 (41-3-59) or imprisonment for six months or both. If a life-threatening disease is involved, failure or refusal to obey the lawful order of a health officer is a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000.00 or imprisonment for up to five years or both (41-23-2).”

The Mississippi State Department of Health says, “Persons infected with COVID-19 should limit exposure to household contacts. No visitors should be allowed in the home. Please stay in a specific room away from others in your home. Use a separate bathroom if available. If you need to be around others in your home, you should wear a facemask. Please see https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/guidance-prevent-spread.html for guidance on preventing transmission in the home.”