Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announces 2020 class


The next wave of all-time greats in the history of Mississippi athletics is now official.

This afternoon, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announced its newest inductee as a part of the six member class of 2020.

- Advertisement -

Including the state’s all-time winningest baseball coach Jerry Boatner, PGA Golfer Pete Brown, 16-year NBA big man Antonio McDyess, stadium architect Janet Marie Smith, long time Mississippi State Athletic Director Larry Templeton, and former Ole Miss and San Francisco 49ers star Patrick Willis.

Those half-dozen Magnolia State legends will be inducted on August 1st of next year bringing the number of total members to 322.

Previous articleJackson County Fair takes place this week
Next articleOur Lady Academy volleyball team headed to the semi-finals
A native of Pass Christian and a St. Stanislaus alum, Jeff Haeger comes to News 25 from right in our backyard. He most recently spent more than three years working as the sports reporter for WHLT-TV in Hattiesburg, where he provided extensive coverage of his alma mater, The University of Southern Mississippi. At Southern Miss, Jeff was a member of the Honors College and graduated with a B.A. degree in Broadcast Journalism with a minor in Spanish. He also wrote for USM's award-winning school newspaper, The Student Printz, where he won first place for Best Sports Story in 2013. Jeff loves to travel, and is excited to get back on the water to reunite with his family. In his spare time you can find Jeff spending time with his friends, and maybe even winning a fantasy football league. For sports stories contact Jeff at jhaeger@wxxv25.com.