Mississippi Highway Patrol is looking for those ready to pursue the call. It is time for the rare opportunity to become a state trooper.
In order to apply you have to be at least 21-years-old with 60 college credit hours or 23-years-old with a high school diploma or GED. You will also need to be able to pass a physical, background check, polygraph, plus a few interviews.
Mississippi Highway Patrol say there are many steps to becoming a trooper and that is because they want to find applicants that will take this seriously as a career. Chase Elkins with Mississippi Highway Patrol said, “We are just another law enforcement agency out there that is looking for people that are dedicated to serving the citizens of the state of Mississippi so that we can protect our families that are traveling up and down the highways. We are looking for candidates that are looking for a career, not a job for a couple of years.”
If you would like to apply you can find the applications at any of the DMVs along the Coast and throughout the state. Applications are due May 31st. If accepted, trooper school will begin in December.