Moore wins Par 3 contest by 2

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 4/09/2014 5:57 pm

Augusta, GA ( - Ryan Moore fired a 6-under 21 to win the Par 3 contest at Augusta National on Wednesday.

Moore, who has made the cut in all of his five previous Masters appearances, won the tournament by two strokes.

"To be honest, my coach and I have been working on my wedges a lot lately," Moore said. "I tried to make a 1 on every hole and it just worked out."

Moore, who tied for 38th last year at Augusta, will now try to become the first person to win the Par 3 contest and Masters in the same year.

Moore did not make a hole-in-one, but three players did. Buddy Alexander, the head golf coach at the University of Florida and 1986 U.S. Amateur winner, and 1998 Masters champion Mark O'Meara both aced No. 2.

Matt Jones, who won last week in Houston to earn the final spot in the Masters, had a hole-in-one on No. 3.

Those three aces raised the all-time total to 80 holes-in-one at the yearly event.

Kevin Stadler, who played alongside his father and 1982 Masters champ Craig Stadler, carded a 4-under 23. The younger Stadler shared second place with 1979 Masters winner Fuzzy Zoeller, who was the last player to win the Masters in his first appearance.

Bernhard Langer, the two-time Masters champ, tied for fourth place at minus-3 with Joost Luiten and Victor Dubuisson.

Since no Par 3 champion has ever won the Masters in the same year, many players had their caddie, child or other family member hit putts or chips for them. Those players officially posted no score.

The field included tournament participants, non-competing past champions and honorary invitees.

After Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer and Gary Player hit their ceremonial opening tee shots, the Masters will officially get underway at 7:45 a.m. (et) Thursday when Tim Clark and 2009 British Open champion Stewart Cink tee off.

Defending champion Adam Scott will play with reigning PGA Champion Jason Dufner and 2013 U.S. Amateur winner Matthew Fitzpatrick at 10:41 a.m. Thursday.

Three-time Masters champion Phil Mickelson is in the penultimate group on Thursday at 1:48 p.m. He will play alongside four-time major champ Ernie Els and reigning U.S. Open winner Justin Rose. That is the only group with three major champions grouped together.

56° Clear Feels Like: 56° F
High: 68° F
Low: 51° F
Wind: NNW 12 mph

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.
Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's FCC public inspection file should contact: WXXV TV Attn: Bobby Edwards 14351 Highway 49 Gulfport, MS 39503 Phone: 228-831-5200 Email: or Donna Ingram Phone: 228-831-5201 Email: To view our public file, visit the 'About WXXV' link at the top of this page. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 1-888-225-5322 or

Copyright © 2015 WXXV-TV and Morris Networks of MS All Rights Reserved