Keselowski on pole for Nationwide race at Watkins Glen

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 8/12/2014 9:20 am

Watkins Glen, NY ( - Brad Keselowski won the pole for Saturday's Zippo 200 Nationwide Series race, while his teammate, Joey Logano, qualified second to give Team Penske a front starting row sweep at Watkins Glen International.

Keselowski, who won this race one year ago, set a new track qualifying record at this 2.45-mile, 7-turn road course with a lap at 124.194 mph. He claimed his fourth pole of the season and the 18th of his Nationwide career. Keselowski won last weekend's race at Iowa Speedway.

The previous track record at Watkins Glen was 123.291 mph, set by Sam Hornish Jr. in 2013.

Logano's lap was clocked at 124.056 mph.

Kyle Busch had the fastest lap in the first round of knockout qualifying but finished third in the second and final round with a lap at 123.729 mph.

Marcos Ambrose, who is making his first Nationwide start this season, qualified fourth, while Regan Smith was fifth.

Rookie Chase Elliott, the current points leader, will start 15th. Elliott holds just a two-point advantage over Smith, his teammate at JR Motorsports.

89° Cloudy Feels Like: 95° F
High: 95° F
Low: 71° F
Wind: NE 3 mph

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.
Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's FCC public inspection file should contact: WXXV TV Attn: Bobby Edwards 14351 Highway 49 Gulfport, MS 39503 Phone: 228-831-5200 Email: or Donna Ingram Phone: 228-831-5201 Email: To view our public file, visit the 'About WXXV' link at the top of this page. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 1-888-225-5322 or

Copyright © 2015 WXXV-TV and Morris Networks of MS All Rights Reserved