Rays finalize ALDS roster

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 10/04/2013 10:41 am

Boston, MA (SportsNetwork.com) - The Tampa Bay Rays finalized their roster for the American League Division Series against Boston and, as expected, added a pair of pitchers.

The Rays kept only nine pitchers for the wild card game against Cleveland, opting to keep reigning Cy Young winner David Price and Jeremy Hellickson inactive for the one-game playoff.

Price, the Game 2 scheduled starter, and Hellickson were added for this round, joining Game 1 starter Matt Moore. Tampa Bay manager Joe Maddon has yet to announce his rotation past Saturday, but other starters kept on the 25-man unit were Chris Archer and wild card winner Alex Cobb.

The relievers include Hellickson, closer Fernando Rodney, lefty flamethrower Jake McGee, righty setup man Joel Peralta, righty long man Jamey Wright and lefties Alex Torres and Wesley Wright.

To open spots for the two pitchers, the Rays left catcher Chris Gimenez and outfielder Kevin Kiermaier off the roster for the ALDS.

Jose Lobaton and Jose Molina will be the catchers for this round, while the infield will once again consist of first baseman James Loney, Ben Zobrist at second, Yunel Escobar at shortstop and third baseman Evan Longoria.

The seven outfielders are Desmond Jennings, Wil Myers, Matt Joyce, David DeJesus, Sam Fuld, Kelly Johnson and Sean Rodriguez, who can also serve as a backup infielder if necessary. Delmon Young is again active as the designated hitter.

72° Clear Feels Like: 72° F
High: 91° F
Low: 71° F
Wind: Calm

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.
Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's FCC public inspection file should contact: WXXV TV Attn: Bobby Edwards 14351 Highway 49 Gulfport, MS 39503 Phone: 228-831-5200 Email: bedwards@wxxv25.com or Donna Ingram Phone: 228-831-5201 Email: dkgingram@wxxv25.com. To view our public file, visit the 'About WXXV' link at the top of this page. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 1-888-225-5322 or fccinfo@fcc.gov.

Copyright © 2014 WXXV-TV and Morris Networks of MS All Rights Reserved